Helpful Information for Vegetarians

Some of the hidden information which can be helpful for vegetarian people before consuming any kind of Food.

This information is limited to USA Market.

Information received in Email from “Frito-Lay” regarding Enzymes used in their products

“Thank you for contacting Frito-Lay.

A number of our cheese seasonings, such as the cheese seasoning for Cheetos, are made with animal enzymes, similar to cheeses sold in grocery stores. If you want to avoid these enzymes, you might want to avoid our snacks that list “cheese” and “whey” as ingredients. Only a few snacks have animal flavors and they will always be listed on the ingredient statement, never hidden under “natural flavors.”

We have a list of kosher snacks on our website. All the snacks listed are free of animal enzymes and flavors. You’ll find it in the “Your Health” section, under “For Special Dietary Needs.”

Our non-seasoned, salted-only snacks, such as Lay’s Classic, Ruffles Original, Fritos, Santitas, Tostitos, Original SunChips and Rold Gold Classic Style Pretzels, do not have enzymes of any kind.

Thank you again for choosing Frito-Lay snacks. We will continue to provide the information you need to make safe, great-tasting choices.

Best regards,

Frito-Lay Consumer Relations

Information found from “Kraft Foods” Website

Reference Link:

q: what is the enzyme derivative of kraft singles?

a: The process of converting milk into cheese is dependent on coagulating through the use of an enzyme. The enzymes in this product are sourced from both microbial fermentations and animal sources.  The animal sources are cow, sheep, and goat.

Reference Link:

q: what enzyme derivative is present in kraft macaroni & cheese?

a: The process of converting milk into cheese is DEPENDENT on coagulating milk through the use of enzymes. We utilize enzymes, purchased from reputable suppliers, for processing our various lines of cheese. The enzymes used to make our cheese powder in packages of Kraft Macaroni & Cheese are derived from an animal source (calves, goat and sheep) and also microbial sources. However, we are looking into new ways of processing our various lines of cheese products that would eliminate the need for enzymes that are derived from animal sources.

Information received in Email from Papa John’s Customer Service: Regarding Cheese used in Papa John’s

“Thank you for your interest in Papa John’s.  There are no animal products in our original crust, pizza sauce, or our mozzarella cheese.  The rennet in the cheese is from a microbial source, not animal.
We do offer additional cheese blends.  Those cheese blends are not vegetarian.  When ordering your pizza, just be sure to ask for mozzarella cheese only.  This is the standard cheese that comes on most of our pizzas.  Our dough does not contain any egg either.
Feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions.

Thank you,
Connie Childs
Research and Development


Information received in Email from Domino’s Customer Service:

“July 03, 2012

Most of the products Domino’s serves (such as pizza cheese or sandwich bread) do not contain animal derived enzymes.  The Alfredo sauce does contain enzymes from a beef source.Most sincerely,  

Domino’s Pizza Customer Care” 


Information received in Email from Kraft foods on “Kraft Cheese”

“July 11, 2012

Thank you for visiting

Most of the cheeses we manufacture contain a microbiologically produced coagulating enzyme called chymosin. The process of converting milk into cheese is dependent on the use of this enzyme.

Our Sharp, Extra Sharp Cheddar and Romano cheeses may contain animal derived enzymes which assist in their flavor and texture development.

Other products utilize a microbial rennet which is derived from the growth of pure cultures of bacteria or mold. KRAFT Natural Swiss Cheese and KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese are example of products that contain this type of enzyme.

Soft cheeses utilize another method of coagulating milk by the growth of pure cultures of bacteria in the milk and the development of lactic acid. Our cream cheese products such as PHILADELPHIA BRAND Cream Cheese and Light PHILADELPHIA BRAND Neufchatel Cheese fall into this category. This is the only information that we have at this time. Unfortunately, we do not have a list to provide.

I hope that this has given you some useful information.

Again, thanks for contacting us, and I hope you’ll continue to enjoy our products.

Kim McMiller
Associate Director, Consumer Relations



Information received in Email from Kraft foods on “Kraft Single Cheese”

” July 20, 2012

Thank you for visiting

For our KRAFT Singles we use enzymes in the cheese making process to make our cheese from milk.  The milk ingredient is stated on the package in our ingredient line. These enzymes are sourced from both microbial fermentations and animal sources.  The animal sources are cow, sheep and goat.

For our KRAFT Mozzarella cheese’s none of our mozzarella products contain animal-based enzymes. Hope this helps!

If you haven’t done so already, please add our site to your favorites and visit us again soon!

Kim McMiller
Associate Director, Consumer Relations

~~TLXEA_23706508~~Y ”


Information received in Email from Pizza Hut regarding Cheese & Enzymes:

“Response Via Email (Lloni C.)      07/11/2012 01:26 PM

Enzymes used in the production of pizza cheese is a microbial fermentation ingredient that is approved by the FDA and is not of animal origin. Pizza Hut uses enzymes and mono- and diglycerides as a dough conditioner to help make the pizza dough easier to handle and stretch. The mono- and diglycerides used in our pizza dough are from vegetable source. The enzymes are from microbial origin.

I hope this information will be beneficial to you and thank you for your interest in Pizza Hut.


Customer Satisfaction Team
[—001:000747:12253—] ”


Information received in email from Subway regarding cheese & Enzymes:

“Friday, May 17, 2013
Hi – the cheeses have enzymes derived from cows.
[the statement applies to all the cheese varieties, even the cheese on top of the bread.

Maureen Jacquot
Customer Care Representative
Comment ID: 2954862″





3 Responses to Helpful Information for Vegetarians

  1. bharat says:

    From: Joyce Laroche
    Sent: ‎12/‎30/‎2014 11:16 AM
    To: ‘bharat patel’
    Subject: RE: Galbani Cheese | General Product Contact

    Dear Mr. Patel,

    Thank you for your interest in our cheeses. We use Microbial rennet in this product.


    Joyce Laroche

  2. bharat says:

    this email from Galbani cheese about their mozzarella whole milk shredded cheese
    this cheese is suitable for vegetarian as well as JAIN people

Leave a Reply to Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* 3+4=?